Overview

Octagon Theatre & York Theatre Royal
Based on the novel by Anne Bronte
New adaptation by Deborah McAndrew
Directed by Elizabeth Newman

In 19th century Yorkshire, a mysterious young widow Helen Graham and her son arrive at the desolate estate of Wildfell Hall. Isolating herself from the village, she soon becomes the subject of local gossip and speculation. Intrigued by this beautiful and enigmatic woman, a young, local farmer, Markham, gradually falls in love. Torn apart with her attraction to Markham and the secrets of her past, Helen finally reveals the shocking history she thought she’d left behind.

Based on the 1848 novel by Anne Brontë The Tenant of Wildfell Hall is a passionate story of a woman’s fight for independence. This new stage adaptation has been lovingly brought to life by award winning playwright Deborah McAndrew, author of An August Bank Holiday Lark (Best New Play, UK Theatre Awards, 2014).

Additional information

Ticket Prices 

£27.50 - £11 (Concessions available)

Investigate Day

Sat 8 April (Find out more)

Post Show Talk

Mon 10 April (Free) find out more about the performance after the show with the actors and director.

Tickets

Tickets

Ticket Prices £27.50 - £11 (Concessions available)
Season Tickets Best available seats from £18 (Find out more)
Groups and school prices available (see underneath dates for details)

Show accessible performances only
Thu 30 March 2017 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 31 March 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Fri 31 March 2017 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 1 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 3 April 2017 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Tue 4 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 5 April 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 5 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 6 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 7 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 8 April 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 8 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 10 April 2017 5:00pm Post Show Talk 5:00pm Buy tickets
Tue 11 April 2017 7:30pm BSL 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 12 April 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 12 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 13 April 2017 7:30pm Captioned 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 15 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Tue 18 April 2017 7:30pm Audio Described 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 19 April 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 19 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 20 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 21 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 22 April 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets

Groups 10+ £3 off (Mon-Thu eves and 2pm matinees) plus 1 free organiser ticket
Groups 31+ £4 off (Mon-Thu eves) £3.50 off (2pm matinees) plus 1 free organiser ticket
Schools £17 - £10 plus 1 free teacher tickets per 15 pupils

For Groups and School tickets call our Box Office on 01204 520661.

Related shows