Overview

Octagon Theatre Bolton
Adapted from the short stories of Bill Naughton
by Lawrence Till
Directed by Elizabeth Newman

Bill and Alf, two young Bolton lads hungry for adventure, discover the mystery and the delights of girls as they grow up together.

Every night they meet at the “Big Corner” at the end of the road to tell (and exaggerate) the stories of their days. One day they meet a girl and both fall in love. After choosing Alf, they marry and every night as they go to bed he tells her a story recounting his escapades growing up as she falls asleep. A kaleidoscope of Bolton life, The Big Corner is a story of hope, young friendship, love and heartache.

Bill Naughton wrote over a thousand short stories and memoirs of his time growing up in Bolton. For our 50th anniversary former Artistic Director Lawrence Till writes a new play that weaves together Naughton’s stories into a heartwarming and uplifting comedy.

Save up to 30% on tickets with our SEASON TICKETS

Additional information

Tickets

£28.50 - £13 (concessions available)

Post Show Talk

Mon 30 April (free)

Investigate Day

Sat 28 April

Image Credit

Horatio Street, Bolton. Photograph by Humphrey Spender. Copyright Bolton Council from the Library and Museum collection. 

Tickets

Tickets

Tickets £28.50 - £13
Concessions Up to £2 off
Save up to 30% with our Season Ticket offer - Find out more
Groups and school prices available*
*See below for details 

Show accessible performances only
Thu 19 April 2018 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 20 April 2018 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 21 April 2018 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 21 April 2018 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 23 April 2018 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Tue 24 April 2018 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 25 April 2018 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 25 April 2018 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 26 April 2018 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 27 April 2018 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 28 April 2018 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 28 April 2018 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 30 April 2018 7:30pm Post Show Talk 7:30pm Buy tickets
Tue 1 May 2018 7:30pm Captioned 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 2 May 2018 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 2 May 2018 7:30pm Audio Described 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 3 May 2018 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Thu 3 May 2018 7:30pm BSL 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 4 May 2018 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 5 May 2018 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 5 May 2018 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets

GROUPS AND SCHOOLS
Groups 10+ Save £3 off full price tickets plus 1 free organiser ticket*
Groups 30+ Save £3.50 off full price tickets plus 1 free organiser ticket*
Schools Tickets £11 - £18 plus 1 free teacher per 15 pupils*
*Excludes Friday and Saturday evening performances, rear gallery on all performances & Bargain Night performances.

See more and save more with our season ticket offer!
Save up to 30% off ticket prices

Related shows