Overview

Octagon Theatre Bolton
By Alan Bennett
Directed by Ben Occhipinti

Renowned playwright Alan Bennett’s masterful collection of monologues are beloved to many since they first aired on television over 15 years ago. In these moving and affectionate pieces, Bennett depicts the bittersweet tales of seemingly ordinary and uneventful lives. Poignant and wonderfully observant, this is a rare opportunity to see three of the original Talking Heads live on stage.

A Chip in the Sugar
Middle-aged Graham finds life becoming complicated when his mother, or "Mam", with whom he still lives, reunites with an old flame.

Lady of Letters
Irene is a one-woman Neighbourhood Watch scheme and her habit of writing letters gets ridiculously out of hand.

A Cream Cracker under the Settee
75 year-old widow Doris, obsessive about tidiness and maintaining her independence, has a fall that decides her future. Made famous by Thora Hird in the original TV series..

Additional information

Ticket Prices 

£27.50 - £11 (Concessions available)

Investigate Day

Sat 24 June (Find out more)

Post Show Talk

Mon 19 June (Free) find out more about the performance after the show with the actors and director.

Tickets

Tickets

Ticket Prices £27.50 - £11 (Concessions available)*
Season Tickets  Best available seats from £18 (Find out more)
Groups and school prices available (see underneath dates for details)

*Please note concession, group and school rates not available for the last week of this production.

Show accessible performances only
Thu 8 June 2017 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 9 June 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Fri 9 June 2017 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 10 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 12 June 2017 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Tue 13 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 14 June 2017 7:30pm Audio Described 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 15 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 16 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 17 June 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 17 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 19 June 2017 5:00pm Post Show Talk 5:00pm Buy tickets
Tue 20 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 21 June 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 21 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 22 June 2017 7:30pm BSL 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 23 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 24 June 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 24 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 26 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Tue 27 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 28 June 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 28 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 29 June 2017 7:30pm Captioned 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 30 June 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 1 July 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 1 July 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 3 July 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Tue 4 July 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 5 July 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 5 July 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 6 July 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 7 July 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 8 July 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 8 July 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets

Groups 10+ £3 off (Mon-Thu eves and 2pm matinees) plus 1 free organiser ticket
Groups 31+ £4 off (Mon-Thu eves) £3.50 off (2pm matinees) plus 1 free organiser ticket
Schools £17 - £10 plus 1 free teacher tickets per 15 pupils

For Groups and School tickets call our Box Office on 01204 520661.

*Please note concession, group and school rates not available for the last week of this production.

Save money on shows through the year
From £15 per show

Related shows