Overview

Octagon Theatre Bolton

Join us for the performance of three brand new monologues. Selected from hundreds of submissions from across the globe for the Octagon's inaugural National Prize, these powerful new monologues are poignant, moving, and hopeful in equal measure.

Blue
Written by Charlotte Josephine

“His tongue’s slimy wet like a whale's lick. Dizzy, I watch him lick his lips, sometimes there’s blue in those flicks.” Life for Amber has always felt grey ‘til suddenly she discovers the secret to tasting technicolour. Problem is, getting your colours like that doesn’t last long. How can you ever get enough of something that only almost works?

Being Amazing
Written by Ian Townsend

One morning 17 year old Leon wakes up believing the day is going to be amazing. The only trouble is, everything – home, college, family, friends, the world at large – seems to be working against him, and the day just keeps getting worse and worse. He has only one hope – his mum’s favourite singer, Kate Bush. But can she save the day?

Nobody Can Never Get Us Back
Written by Shauna Mackay

Yolanda Black is more than her trauma. Yolanda is Yolanda and that’s a lot. She’s got daughters, dogs, jobs, words, shoes—only the one husband—though some might say not quite. Yolanda likes to look after everybody and bother nobody. She is a woman who, if told she was unsung, would sing!

Additional information

Tickets

£12 (concessions available)

Age Guide

14+

Tickets

Tickets

Ticket Prices £12 (concessions available)
Groups and schools 1 free ticket per 10 - call 01204 520661 for more information and to book group tickets

Show accessible performances only
Wed 21 June 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 22 June 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 23 June 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 24 June 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 26 June 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Tue 27 June 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 28 June 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 29 June 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 30 June 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 1 July 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 3 July 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Tue 4 July 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 5 July 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 5 July 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 6 July 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 7 July 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 8 July 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 8 July 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets

Related shows