Overview

Octagon Theatre Bolton & Derby Theatre
By Willy Russell
Director Elizabeth Newman

“Yeh. An’ it might be worthless in the end. But I had a choice. I chose, me. Because of what you’d given me. I had a choice.”

Frank has almost given up completely. Given up on his ambition to be a poet and bored of teaching undergraduate English students, he reflects morosely on his life. That is until Rita walks in. A 29 year old, married hairdresser, Rita has decided to take control of her life and earn herself an education. With Rita’s brash honesty and Frank’s deep intellect, each inspires the other as they both begin to wake up to life in their own way.

Willy Russell’s award-winning play is an uplifting tale of self-discovery where we witness how the power of choice comes through education.

Sponsored by

Additional information

Ticket Prices 

£27.50 - £11 (Concessions available)

Investigate Day

Sat 4 February (Find out more)

Post Show Talk

Mon 30 January (Free) find out more about the performance after the show with the actors and director.

Tickets

Tickets

Ticket Prices £27.50 - £11 (Concessions available)*
Season Tickets  Best available seats from £18 (Find out more)
Groups and school prices available (see underneath dates for details)

*Please note concession, group and school rates not available for the last week of this production.

Show accessible performances only
Thu 19 January 2017 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 20 January 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Fri 20 January 2017 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 21 January 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 23 January 2017 7:30pm Bargain Night 7:30pm Buy tickets
Tue 24 January 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 25 January 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 25 January 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 26 January 2017 7:30pm Audio Described 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 27 January 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 28 January 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 28 January 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 30 January 2017 5:00pm Post Show Talk 5:00pm Buy tickets
Tue 31 January 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 1 February 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 1 February 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 2 February 2017 7:30pm BSL 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 3 February 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 4 February 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 4 February 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Mon 6 February 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Tue 7 February 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Wed 8 February 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Wed 8 February 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Thu 9 February 2017 7:30pm Captioned 7:30pm Buy tickets
Fri 10 February 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets
Sat 11 February 2017 2:00pm 2:00pm Buy tickets
Sat 11 February 2017 7:30pm 7:30pm Buy tickets

Groups 10+ £3 off (Mon-Thu eves and 2pm matinees) plus 1 free organiser ticket
Groups 31+ £4 off (Mon-Thu eves) £3.50 off (2pm matinees) plus 1 free organiser ticket
Schools £17 - £10 plus 1 free teacher tickets per 15 pupils

For Groups and School tickets call our Box Office on 01204 520661.

*Please note concession, group and school rates not available for the last week of this production.

Save money on shows through the year
From £15 per show

Related shows